Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

1 Peter 3:3-4

I wonder if I would be having this much anxiety about my dress if I hadn’t had a recent comment on my blog that said (among other negative things),

PS I saw a picture of your son’s wedding. The mother-in-law had a beautiful gown. You look like you wore my grandmother’s everyday dress and her orthopedic shoes.

I laughed when I first read it.  I kept thinking, Really?  Someone is going to look up what I wore nearly seven years ago and find fault with it?

Just yesterday, as I expressed my anxiety to Deirdre, she said, “No one is going to remember what you wear. Do you even remember what Grammie wore to your wedding?”Aviary Photo_130534633523591021

Yes, in fact, I do remember what my mother wore.  She looked lovely.

Deirdre, my husband, and I went to a wedding this weekend and I was keenly aware of the dress the mother of the groom wore.  It sparkled. I don’t have a single dress that sparkles.

So I asked the question, “Does the mother of the groom have to wear a sparkly dress?”

Mixed in with the helpful advice about linen, and sheaths, and jackets, was this little gem –“…the MOTG should show up, shut up, and wear beige.

My future daughter-in-law is such a sweet girl.  When we were trying to find dresses for the girls to wear, she said, “I just want them to feel pretty.”

I want to feel pretty, too. I just have this niggling doubt that it’s not possible.

For the wedding we attended this weekend, I wore the same dress that I had worn to Andrew’s wedding.  My husband told me that I looked beautiful.

He knows my heart better than any other person. I could put on my grandmother’s everyday dress and orthopedic shoes, and he would still find me beautiful because he loves me.

What a gift that is.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2014 by in Family conversation and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
