Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Gandalf and Soccer

Under the lights -- the players looked tiny and far away -- just like this.

Under the lights — the players looked tiny and far away — just like this.

“Remember when we went to see ‘The Lord of the Rings’ together and I couldn’t watch it?” I asked Brandon.

We were watching a soccer game, one in which Finley was playing, and he was bemoaning the fact that Finley’s team had a two goal lead. Yes, you read that correctly. He was bemoaning that fact. Moreso, he was actively cheering for players on the other team.

“I like it when games are close and exciting,” he kept saying.  This game was close and exciting enough for my taste.

I asked him the LotR question and he kind of looked at me. “You mean the last movie?” he asked.

Okay, I confess, I watched most of the last movie, “The Return of the King,” through my fingers.  I kept covering my eyes because I really don’t do well with violence.

“No, the first one,” I said. “It was too tense and I needed to know what happened.”

“I don’t really remember that,” he replied.

“I needed you to tell me whether Gandalf was dead or not,” I explained. Usually, I read the book before I watch the movie. This was a rare instance when I had not. “And you wouldn’t tell me.  You kept saying, ‘Just watch the movie.'”

Brandon laughed. “Did I tell you?” he asked.

“Yes, because I really couldn’t watch anymore. I hate when things are too tense.”

He laughed again. Then he yelled, “Go, Tommy!” to a player on the other team who had the ball. “I guess you and I are different,” he said. “I like the excitement and the suspense.”

A little excitement is okay, I guess.

But I can honestly say that I liked the Lord of the Rings movie a whole lot more once I knew that Gandalf was coming back.

Now, I’m finally reading the book.

2 comments on “Gandalf and Soccer

  1. acuriousgal
    September 28, 2013

    I love the excitement too!! My hubby has read those books about a million times!! His favorite series!!

    • sarahlangdon
      September 28, 2013

      The older I’ve gotten, the less I like excitement. I don’t think I’ve been on an actual roller coaster for 30 years. Life is exciting enough. Plus, I forget to breathe when there’s too much suspense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 28, 2013 by in Family conversation and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
