Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Looking Up

The counselor asked me to describe each of my children.

I just looked at him blankly. “What do you want to know?” I asked him.

“Just tell me about them. What are they like?”

I started with Brandon.  Don’t ask me why. “Brandon is a poet,” I said.

“Has he written a lot of poetry?” the counselor asked.

“No,” I said. “Well, I don’t think so. Actually I don’t know.”

I sounded so pathetic.  I could feel the panic rising.  This man was probably thinking that I was an idiot.

“He has a poet’s heart,” I said, as if that explained everything

In my mind, I was picturing a photograph he had taken when he was 16. It was of a dandelion, but Brandon had positioned the camera on the ground, looking up at the bottom side of the dandelion.  The sky was so bright and blue in the background, and the dandelion was like the sun.  I always thought of that photograph as a poem.  It said something to me that couldn’t be said in any other way.

I looked at the counselor, trying to decide if I should dig my hole any deeper and tell him about the photo.  Instead I moved on to describe another child.

When I got home, I looked for the picture.  I had blown it up and framed it.  Somewhere along the line, though — what with eight kids, a dog, a cat, and a move — the glass had gotten broken and the picture itself had been damaged. So I hung it on the lattice behind the brown-eyed susans, and took a picture of their bottom side, with Brandon’s picture in the background.

017

It’s like a bad poem about a good poem.

Brandon wrote the good one.

*****

Thanks to the Daily Prompt: Perspective.

5 comments on “Looking Up

  1. Pingback: The daily trials of Miu, whom I call Niko. | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: What if I was ready for my road trip? | Okay, what if ?

  3. Pingback: Greater Perspective | The Silver Leaf Journal

  4. pinklightsabre
    September 17, 2013

    Love this one…

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2013 by in Family conversation and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
