Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Upon Learning That I Was Draco Malfoy

Last week a Harry Potter chart was making the rounds on Facebook.

harry potter

“Who are you?” it boldly asked, somewhat enticingly.

Then a friend sent me the same one. “I just saw this link today, and it made me laugh to see where you landed,” she said.  “At least you weren’t Voldemort.”

I should have known not to look. Draco Malfoy.  Ugh.  I’m Draco Malfoy.

I told Deirdre about it, and she said, “At least you weren’t Umbridge.”  It was not comforting.

Being an INTJ is something I wrestle with and have trouble fully accepting.  Sometimes, I shake an angry fist at God, and ask Him, “Why INTJ?”

I don’t like being an INTJ.  Can you tell?

Someone pointed out that as we age, the opposite qualities deepen.  I have taken the test a number of times since I was in my 20s without a change in the final result.  However, my J is softening to almost a P. Hermione I could live with.

The Daily Prompt asked today: If you were forced to give up one sense, but gain super-sensitivity in another, which senses would you choose?  That was easy for me to answer.

I would give up Common Sense. Enough of these logical paths. I would lose my analytical, structured way of thinking.

And Nonsense?  Come on in and take over! I would be wildly creative in ways no one would even dream. I would be Hagrid. I would hatch dragons and hippogriffs. I would be jolly.

From the Strategist to the Artist: that’s what I would change.

How about you?  Which Harry Potter character are you? What would you change?

*****

To take the Myers-Briggs Personality Assessment, go here:  16 Personalities.

 

26 comments on “Upon Learning That I Was Draco Malfoy

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | flow of my soul

  2. dawnhosking
    September 16, 2013

    I’d say I’m Hermoine and I’d relax my organised nature (though sometimes it is necessary). I’d got with the flow more and I’d go join you as Hagrid and nurture your fabulous magical creatures 😉

    • sarahlangdon
      September 16, 2013

      Yes, organization is probably necessary. Can you imagine how crazy a world of all Hagrids would be? Chaotic — but a whole lot of fun!

      • dawnhosking
        September 16, 2013

        A world of Hagrids would be mind boggling fun 😉

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | My Atheist Blog

  4. Harmony
    September 16, 2013

    I have neither read the Harry Potter books, nor even bothered with the movies so I don’t know any of the characters; however I cannot pass up a personally quiz … THAT’s who I am!

    • sarahlangdon
      September 16, 2013

      I read the books — it was back in the days when I was trying to read everything my children were reading — and loved them. I saw the first movie, and loved it not so much. In fact, I haven’t want to go to a Harry Potter movie since.

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Sensitive to Beauty | The Silver Leaf Journal

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | The Story of a Guy

  8. girlychristina
    September 16, 2013

    I am Ron Weasley-ENFP. Thanks for posting this! It was fun to do a personality test and apply it to Harry Potter characters. =) It was so much fun!
    http://lifebeinggirly.wordpress.com/

    • sarahlangdon
      September 17, 2013

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. Ron Weasley is one of my favorite characters.

  9. Pingback: My Dog Senses | Anchors Aweigh

  10. aspenlinmer
    September 16, 2013

    I can see why you might not like that your results identified you with Draco…but I don’t think it is entirely a bad thing. Draco is incredibly smart, gifted, ambitious, and very crafty. I know that most people don’t usually look upon “craftiness” or “cunning” as a good thing…but it means that you think things through and you don’t give up. I think that is a good thing.

    But then again…I’m an ISTJ…Snape…so of course I would see a fellow Slytherin, and someone who carefully thinks things through in a creative way, as a friend.

    ~Aspen
    http://horcruxesheroesandharrypotter.wordpress.com/

    • sarahlangdon
      September 17, 2013

      Thanks for commenting, Aspen! There’s just this part of me that wishes I was a harmless little Hufflepuff…

      • aspenlinmer
        September 19, 2013

        Hahaha,

        I completely understand!

        Sometimes I wish the same myself.

        ~Aspen

  11. Pingback: Super Sight! | Stuphblog

  12. Pingback: I need ‘em all | A mom's blog

  13. Pingback: I Can See Clearly Now | Danny James

  14. Pingback: Would I really favor an imbalanced sensory array? | Rob's Surf Report

  15. pinklightsabre
    September 16, 2013

    I think I identify with Professor Lupin. I am just on book 5 though, so don’t spoil anything please. Nice post!

    • sarahlangdon
      September 17, 2013

      I would never dream of spoiling anything for anybody! 😉

  16. Jeyna Grace
    September 16, 2013

    Dont let a personality test define you. I’m an INTJ too and I found myself relating to almost everything, but I address the negative parts and attempt to change 🙂

    I didn’t know I would get Draco, but I’m glad I did. Draco is actually my fav character.

  17. AuburnhairGingertea
    September 17, 2013

    Oh my goodness I love this! Now I have to go take a that test hahaha!

  18. arrowtarget
    September 17, 2013

    Amazing!

  19. Pingback: Senseless | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 16, 2013 by in Miscellaneous conversations and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
