Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Mercy

Sunrise today

Sunrise today

There is a picture that I never grow tired of taking.  

I am the first one awake in my home nearly every morning.  I come downstairs while it is still dark.

My routine involves making coffee and then sitting with my Bible and prayer book at the kitchen table.

I always position myself so that I can watch the sky.

They never ceases to amaze and shock and awe me, those moments when the sky yields its darkness to the light. It is new every single morning.

And I think of Jeremiah’s words, spoken in the darkness of a fallen nation, in the days approaching the Babylonian captivity of the people of Israel:

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
His mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is thy faithfulness. (Lamentations 3:23-24)

It is the very picture of mercy that God gives me, morning after morning after morning.

May I never fail to see His mercy in my life.

Sunrise last week

Sunrise last week

Sunrise last year

Sunrise last year

 

Inspiration for this post came from Lisa-jo Baker’s Five Minute Fridays.  Today’s word was mercy.

4 comments on “Mercy

  1. Lizzy
    September 13, 2013

    I’m not usually up to watch sunrise (though when I am I do enjoy it), sunset captures me too. I like to leave the blinds open until I can see the first evening star or three. So serene and beautiful. Your post is a wonderful reminder of the daily refreshing we are blessed with.

  2. catterel
    September 13, 2013

    Sounds like a great way to start the day – I am definitely more an owl than a lark, so rarely se the sunrise, and the houses across the road block out the sunsets here, but I know of few things more beautiful and uplifting.

  3. asmallbutmeaningfullife
    September 13, 2013

    I love the sunrise also,and the promise of a new day. This is just beautiful.

  4. pinklightsabre
    September 14, 2013

    I can relate to that moment of the day, and the peace, quiet, and splendor of it. My favorite time of the day.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2013 by in Conversations with God and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
