Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

School Board

Yesterday I happened to have a conversation with the newest member of our local school board. She is a lovely lady with the true gift of encouragement.

Tomorrow is the first day of school here. I know, I know, so many of you have been back to school for weeks, but New York is, well, it’s just New York. We like to do things our own way.

So tomorrow is the first day of school. Today, the day after Labor Day, is a day that just the staff shows up to make sure everything is ready for all the kiddos.

My lovely lady friend who is a member of the school board (hereafter abbreviated LLFMSB) said, “I really want to do something to raise the morale of the staff.  It’s so important.  Don’t you think it’s important to raise morale?”  Here, she turned to a man standing beside me who was a teacher at a neighboring school.

“Well, umm, I don’t know,” he stammered. “I think morale is pretty good at your school.”

LLFMSB said, “I’m going to be delivering cookies to all the schools tomorrow. For the staff, you know.”

The man said, “Are you doing this as a school board member?”

LLFMSB said, “No, I brought it up at the last meeting, but they all looked at me like I was crazy.  All they want to deal with is the legal stuff.  I want to do something to raise morale.”

I laughed a little inside.  Of course the school board wants to deal with legal stuff.  That’s what they do.  Budgets and legal matters and oversight of the general running of the school.  A bunch of men are not going to want to bake cookies.  LLFMSB would have to do that on her own, as a member of the community, not as a school board member.

She has the gift of encouragement.  It’s the cause for which she has devoted her life.  She became my friend when she delivered cookies to me, once, when I was a stranger and feeling down.

The Daily Prompt today asked what cause I would throw myself into completely.  I don’t know. Family? Prayer? The Sandwich Generation, struggling with family at both ends of the age spectrum?

I do, however, know what cause my friend would throw herself into, because she already has — baking cookies to offer encouragement to others.  It’s a sweet cause.

frosted cookies

12 comments on “School Board

  1. Pingback: The Business of Helping Others | Molly Greye

  2. Pingback: Reading for a cause | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Cause and Effect | Life & Times

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause | My Atheist Blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Effects of a Cause | The Silver Leaf Journal

  7. Pingback: Be + Cause = Because You Can | Cheri Speak

  8. Pingback: Do I really have a cause? | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause | Joe's Musings

  10. Pingback: Just because… | Natasha's Memory Garden

  11. Pingback: Week of WordPress – Compassion | Enhance The Human Experience

  12. Pingback: Week of WordPress – Compassion | Enhance The Human Experience

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 3, 2013 by in Miscellaneous conversations and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
