Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Worship

“I don’t really want to go to church today,” my husband said.

Our regular pastor was out of town.  The guest speaker was someone we had both heard before and not really liked.

“Where do you want to go then?” I asked, but our choices were limited, and as time passed, became non-existent.  We didn’t go to church. We didn’t worship.

It was such a rare occurrence, to skip church.  I sort of enjoyed the leisure of the morning.

I can just worship by enjoying the beautiful day, I told myself. God is so evident in nature.

When Monday rolled around, though, I could feel an emptiness welling up within me.  I missed worship.

Oh, I had enjoyed the sunshine and the blue skies.  I had thanked and praised God for His beauty that was all around me.  I had prayed.  I had listened to Christian music.

For all that, I hadn’t worshiped.  At least not the way I do in church, with the gray-haired ladies, and the old hymnals, and the stained glass windows.  I hadn’t murmured my prayer of confession with forty other voices or sung the Doxology.

There’s something about corporate worship.

I’m an introvert to the nth degree.  I could win contests for my level of introversion. If I don’t have to be with other people, I’m not.

But, still, there’s something about corporate worship.  There’s something about joining together with a body of believers and together, with one voice, honoring Him, with our prayers and our songs and our tithes and our offerings.  It fills a deep place within me that can be filled in no other way.

I won’t miss worship again.  Speaker be hanged — the sermon is the least part of worship on a Sunday morning.

Hebrews 10:24-25

24 And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, 25 not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.

*****************************

It’s Five Minute Friday over at Lisa -Jo Baker’s blog and today’s prompt is “Worship”.  Check it out and join a community of bloggers all trying to frantically get something cohesive written on a set topic in only five minutes.

4 comments on “Worship

  1. richm612
    August 30, 2013

    Interesting thoughts! I agree that there is something unique about believers being together worshipping God that you don’t get on your own.

  2. RambleSAHM (@RambleSAHM)
    August 30, 2013

    I have to agree. I love coming together to worship our wonderful creator. We need each other.

  3. Bekka
    August 30, 2013

    I enjoyed your thoughts about corporate worship. There is something about shared faith, something sacred about community itself.

  4. catterel
    August 31, 2013

    I miss corporate worship – the whole is definitely greater than the sum of the parts.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 30, 2013 by in Family conversation and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
