Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Math and Stats

As a student in high school, I had a pretty good aptitude for math.  I’ve always liked numbers.  They make sense.

Unfortunately, my 10th grade math teacher called me “a stupid ________________” (fill in the blank with the ethnic slur of your choice), and I quit taking math in high school once I completed his class.  I had been in advanced math, so I had completed all my requirements, and it was okay.  It didn’t hold me back in college or anything.  Does anyone really use calculus anyway?

In college, I took a statistics course which I loved.  Again, the numbers made sense.  They told stories. Statistics can be even more fun than other math because of the stories that can be told with the numbers.  A good statistician, like a good writer or a good artist, can manipulate their given media around to tell whatever story they want to tell.

All this brings me to my statistics on this blog.  They are such gobbledy-gook that I contend that no one could make sense of them.

I have a very small readership.  Make that minuscule.  Thank you to those of you who do read and comment and like and follow and all that other good stuff.

The truth is that I have learned to write for me.  I write because it helps me remember the little things that happen.  It helps me sort out the big things that happen.  Publishing it on a blog simply keeps me accountable to actually writing the things down.

One Visitor, Six Views, Two Countries

One Visitor, Six Views, Two Countries

Back to these darned statistics.  There are days when more countries than visitors are represented.  How does that happen?  Or, I’ll have more Likes than Views.  That becomes especially puzzling when the Views are for the whole blog and the Likes are for a specific post, and the numbers are no where near each other.  Numbers should make sense.  These don’t.

Part of the Daily Prompt for May 7 was, “If you’re a new blogger, what’s one question you’d like to ask other bloggers?”

Here’s my question:  Is some one from the Federal Bureau of Labor Statistics involved with WordPress’s statistics?

12 comments on “Math and Stats

  1. catterel
    May 8, 2013

    Sarah, I have often puzzled over WordPress stats – like you, I’ve had one visitor from two different parts of the world! I also have a WorldCluster map with totally different stats. My theory is that it’s chimps with a pin!

  2. Mia
    May 8, 2013

    Dear Sarah
    Blogging to me is such fun! Having a chronic illness that often leaves me house and couch bound, blogging is a way of keeping busy in a constructive way. I also find blogging has helped me deal with a lot of baggage from my past. And not to mention all the nice people you meet on the web!
    Blessings
    Mia

    • sarahlangdon
      May 8, 2013

      Blogging is great fun, I agree! When I first started (on another blog) it was to deal with the earlier stages of my mother’s Alzheimer’s. Now, it’s just about life.

      You’re right, too, that there are some awfully nice people on the web — like you! I’m so glad you’re there!

      Sarah

  3. Judy Guion
    May 8, 2013

    I don’t pay too much attention to the numbers because of those same reasons.. For me, it’s the comments that really count!

    • sarahlangdon
      May 9, 2013

      I agree, Judy. The comments remind me that there are real people out there really reading what I wrote. Numbers are kind of cold and impersonal.

  4. suesconsideredtrifles
    May 9, 2013

    One of the things I’ve learned about visits and likes is that it is possible to like a post fro the Reader without even reading it! Sometimes the visits and countries take time to catch up. I don’t pay too much attention to that. Sometimes the countries don’t even display. The way the stats page works actually seems to have improved over the months. Sue

    • sarahlangdon
      May 9, 2013

      Thanks for commenting, Sue!

      I know that people can “Like” from the Reader, but, in a way, that bothers me too. If a post is, say, 500 words in length, and the first 50 show up on the Reader, they may like it based on those first 50, but never take the time to actually read the post. Very few posts show up in toto on the Reader.

      I would agree, too, that WordPress is working to improve their Stats page. I need to learn to not pay too much attention to it.
      Sarah

  5. orestgtd
    May 9, 2013

    72% of all statistics are made up.

    • sarahlangdon
      May 9, 2013

      But 98.9% of the people who comment on this blog have above average intelligence.

      • orestgtd
        May 10, 2013

        It’s good to be in the top 98.9% 🙂

  6. Pingback: Patience and persistance | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2013 by in Postaday 2013 and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
