Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Brave

154_1572Rosalita and Cherith, two little cousins,
Stand at the edge of the pool
Shivering and scared as they stare at the water
So blue and so deep and so cool.

Rosalita is dark, brown hair and brown eyes;
Cherith is blond, hazel, fair.
Together they stand, fingers entwined,
Each helping the other prepare.

Rosalita and Cherith draw strength from each other
As they stare at the water in fear.
I stand in the water, beckoning them jump,
Seeming so far, but quite near.

Rosalita and Cherith, one after the other,
Jump from the deck to my arms.
I catch them and hold them and whisper to each,
Ma cherie, I will keep you from harm.”

******************

It’s Five Minute Friday over at Lisa -Jo Baker’s blog and today’s prompt is “Brave” which is kind of funny because I went bravely went downstairs at 4 AM because I had heard a noise.  There was nothing amiss, but I was sufficiently awake that I thought I would check what this week’s prompt was so I could “sleep” on it a little.  When I went back to bed, thinking of “brave”, the image of these two little girls I have in swim lessons came to mind.  When I woke up, I had this little poem dancing in my head.  Five minutes and done.

6 comments on “Brave

  1. Mia
    May 3, 2013

    Dear Sarah
    You can think what this reminds me of!! Us being scared to take that first step into the unknown, but when we do, we fall right into our Pappa’s arms.
    Blessings
    Mia

  2. shortybear
    May 3, 2013

    So precious, bless you.

  3. Colline
    May 3, 2013

    This is beautiful. You have captured the feelings of fear and timidity so perfectly for those young ones getting ready to jump into the water.

  4. This took me back to my first swim lessons as a child :). Scary stuff! Anyways, I enjoyed how you wrote this. The image of children jumping in to the unknown , yet with you there as their protector was poetic.

  5. Wendy Meijer
    May 4, 2013

    Lovely, thanks for stopping by and visiting my blog too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2013 by in Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
