Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Jason Gray

I woke up this morning feeling so empty of ideas.  I hate not having something simmering on the back burner of my mind.  It’s like not having anything to offer the friend who stops by for a visit.  I did, however, have a song running through my mind — not quite annoying, but persistently nagging at me.  The Daily Prompt: Earworm, therefore, was a godsend.  It asked, “What song is stuck in your head  these days? Why does it speak to you?”

First, I must back up.  Last year was a hard year for the Langdon family.  Unforeseen events hit like landslides. Digging out is slow, hard process and not without set-backs.  There have been days when I thought we would never make it, and I haven’t been alone in that thinking.

Bobby said to me a few weeks ago, “I can’t listen to the music on my iPod anymore.”

I thought it was a technology problem and was surprised he was coming to me with it.

“Do you need a new iPod?” I asked. My solution, more and more, is to buy new rather than fix.  How American of me.

“No, I need new music,” he replied. “Everything on there now just brings up memories.  Don’t you associate music with memories sometimes?”

Yes, I do.  There are songs that bring me back to my teenage years with only few notes.  For him, too much of the music on his iPod brought him back to the sad days of the past year.

“Well, let’s get some new music then,” I suggested.

“Can we get some of that Jason Gray guy?” he asked.

Jason Gray.  Where to begin with Jason Gray.  I had never even heard of him until I went to my first Hutchmoot in 2011.  There he launched his latest CD, “A Way to See in the Dark.” I cried during the launch concert.  Like a baby.

Jason Gray is one of those people who, when he stands up, just keeps going up and up and up.  I don’t know how tall he is, but I’ll bet, when he was in high school, he was asked more than once to play basketball.

Jason Gray wears plaid flannel shirts.  Old ones.  Comfortable ones.  Every time I have seen him, that’s what he has on, and I’ve wondered if that’s what he wears even on the hottest days of summer.  It’s an endearing thing, because it is so unpretentious.

Jason Gray’s songs are not your typical life-is-wonderful-because-I-know-Jesus songs.  He acknowledges that life is hard and that a faith walk is not always easy.  He admits to imperfection.

Jason Gray has a beautiful singing voice.  Beautiful.

And he stutters when he speaks, which is also beautiful.

Bobby and I went to a Jason Gray /Andrew Peterson concert in Syracuse this past February.  Jason Gray has groupies.  I had no idea.

But that’s where Bobby heard him, and liked him, enough to ask for his music.

So, on Friday, April 12, I placed an order with the Rabbit Room for three Jason Gray CDs.  On Monday, April 15, this is what came in the mail.

054

How’s that for service?

I’ve been playing them ever since.

I woke up this morning with Jason Gray playing in my head.  It was the same song that was in my head yesterday.  And the day before.  It’s called “Fade With Our Voices”.  It’s a reminder that worship isn’t just singing in church; it’s a life lived for Him.

In the song Jason asks, “Does our worship have hands?  Does it have feet? Does it stand up in the face of injustice? Does our worship bow down? Does it run deep?  Is it more than a song that fades with our voices? Does it fade with our voices?”

Challenging words.  I like having them run through my mind.

7 comments on “Jason Gray

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Earworm | Infinitely

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Songs Stuck With The Letter S | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. Alyssa
    April 22, 2013

    HM 2011 was my introduction to Jason Gray, too, and I also blubbered through that whole concert. He quickly gave AP a run for his money in my iPod’s most-played playlist after that. And that’s saying something.

    • sarahlangdon
      April 22, 2013

      I had already spent my allotted cash before the concert. I scraped together enough pennies to buy one CD and took the recommendation of two die-hard Jason Gray fans that were there. I bought “Acoustic Storytime” and that has been my only Jason Gray CD until last week.

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt : Earworm : Last Song Syndrome | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  5. Pingback: Ear Worm | Cheri Speak

  6. Pingback: My Brain – The Musical | The Jittery Goat

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2013 by in Family conversation, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
