Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

A Secret Conversation With God

Evelyn Underhill called prayer “a secret conversation with God.”  I love that description.

Every morning, I come downstairs before everyone else.  Sometimes, it is completely black outside, save the glow of a streetlight which I can see from my kitchen window. Often, my backyard neighbor is up before me, as his own window light attests.

A streetlight and a house light are all I see.

A streetlight and a house light are all I see.

I begin my morning with coffee (is there any other way?) and my little pile of devotional books.  I just finished reading Silence by  Shūsaku Endō and just started The Collected Papers of Evelyn Underhill.

ESV Journaling Bible, A Diary of Private Prayer, The Book of Common Prayer, Collected of Papers of Evelyn Underhill, a notebook for writing

ESV Journaling Bible, A Diary of Private Prayer, The Book of Common Prayer, The Collected Papers of Evelyn Underhill, a notebook for writing

As I begin with my prayers and liturgies, I sometimes become so engrossed in everything that I fail to catch the dawn at its best, but the sun begins to peak beyond the trees and brighten my world.

Still only a streetlight and house light, but a much lighter sky

Still only a streetlight and house light, but a much lighter sky

Sometimes the morning is just gray.

Sometimes the morning is just gray.

Sometimes there is a splash of color.

Sometimes there is a splash of color.

The streetlight holds on for as long as possible.

The streetlight holds on for as long as possible.

But always, the light of the sun takes over.

But always, the sun takes over.

And isn’t that a picture of what we want our Christian walk to be?  So engrossed in Him and His word, that we fail to recognize Him taking over our very lives.

My secret conversation, once properly begun, continues throughout the day.

More of Him and less of me.

Amen.

2 comments on “A Secret Conversation With God

  1. catterel
    March 23, 2013

    Oh yes! Amen.

  2. Judy Guion
    March 23, 2013

    A perfect day is one that begins with devotions and ends with prayers of thanks.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 23, 2013 by in Conversations with God, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
