Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Security

We have a cat.  Her specialty is vomit. Sometimes we don’t like her very much because of it.

Her other specialty is shedding.  Sometimes we don’t like her very much because of that either.

Her third specialty is scratching at the door to go out.  And come in.  And go out.  And come in.  And go out.  And come in.  All within a five minute period.

She is old, so I have compassion for her.

When I’m old, and my specialty is producing bodily fluids, and my second specialty is poor hygiene, and my third specialty is not being sure whether I’m coming or going, I hope someone has compassion on me.

cat in a basketThe other day, she discovered a basket that is the perfect size for her.  She curls up inside this basket and sleeps there.  A lot.

I sent a picture of her to my sister.

We were in the midst of the following conversation —

Sis:  Our cats latest toy… a ping pong ball

Me:  We stuff our cat in a basket.

Sis:  Time out?

Me:  She actually chose it as her new favorite spot.

Sis  We all search for the same thing … security.

Me:  True.

Sis:  Wouldn’t it be nice to be able to fit in a snug little basket.

So, when I’m old and my specialty is producing bodily fluids, and my second specialty is poor hygiene, and my third specialty is not being sure whether I’m coming or going, I hope someone finds a nice little basket I can fit in.

For security.

Social security.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/daily-prompt-menagerie/

10 comments on “Security

  1. catterel
    March 19, 2013

    I so empathise with that!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Joe's Musings

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Menagerie « Mama Bear Musings

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Menagerie | My Atheist Blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Menagerie | writinglikeastoner

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Menagerie or Zoo? | My Blog

  7. Pingback: Pulling Another Sneaky Move! | So I Went Undercover

  8. cookiecharm
    March 19, 2013

    🙂 Love it!

  9. Pingback: Travels With Ole Duke | The Jittery Goat

  10. Pingback: Ménage à dix | The Daily Dilly Dally

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2013 by in Family conversation, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
