Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Restaurant Critic

“What are you doing, Mom?” Hannah asked, as I pulled to the side of the road to take a picture.

“I’m taking a picture of that sign,” I told her. “It bothers me.”

007

The sign is for the Red & Blue Asian Grill & Bar.  It’s in Troy, New York.

Troy, first introduced to me as “the armpit of New York”, is the home of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI), where 65% of the students graduated in the top 10% of their class.  It is the nation’s oldest technological university.  Students there have bright, quick, problem-solving minds.

We go to Troy several times during the swim season because the pool at RPI hosts some large meets. To get to the pool, I drive past the Red & Blue Asian Grill & Bar with its red and yellow sign.

Every time I drive past, I ask myself, Why did they do that?  Why didn’t they make their sign red and blue?

IMG_0156[1]

Across the street is the Notty Pine Restaurant, another restaurant whose name annoys me. What kind of word is notty?  Why not knotty?  Or even naughty?

Day after day, the students at RPI are assaulted by the contradiction of the Red & Blue restaurant and the misspelled Notty Pine.  Perhaps these restaurateurs are just thumbing their nose at the students.  Perhaps that’s their way of messing with these leaders of tomorrow.

Either way, I probably wouldn’t eat at either one.  Words matter to me.

One comment on “Restaurant Critic

  1. catterel
    March 17, 2013

    We are so on the same wavelength! I wouldn’t go there, either!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 17, 2013 by in Miscellaneous conversations, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
