Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

What’s In a Name?

blue-hello-name-tagSome names just make me smile.

I was standing at a swim meet with Coach Gretchen a few weeks ago, waiting for one our swimmers to swim, when Gretchen turned to me and said, “Don’t you just love this name?”  She was pointing to a name in the program of a swimmer now on the blocks.

“Jazzy Dixon,” Gretchen said. “I just love that name!”

“There’s a name on the record boards at one of the high schools where I officiate,” I told her. “It always makes me smile when I see it.  Happy Wonka.”

“I swam against Happy Wonka,” Gretchen exclaimed. “I remember her well.”

I was about to say that it was a really old record, but thought better of it.  That would imply that I think Gretchen is old, which I don’t.

I told Grace and Hannah about Jazzy Dixon and Happy Wonka.  They both had the same response, “I wonder if she (Happy Wonka) had a brother named William!”

I was telling Deirdre about the whole thing and asked her if she remembered any fun names from swim meets.  “I remember Katie Swimm,” I told her.  I always liked that name because, with a last name like Swimm, it was so good that she liked swimming.

“My favorite name was Omkar Karkar,” Deirdre said decidedly. “It’s just a fun name to say.”

And it is.  Try it.

Do you know any great names?

************

Thanks to Catterel who unknowingly inspired this post by beginning her post today with these words,

Lina Button: a neat little name, easy to say and remember. A smiley name: bright as a button!

5 comments on “What’s In a Name?

  1. catterel
    March 15, 2013

    We have a TV meteorologist called Sarah Blizzard – it always makes me smile even when she forecasts bad weather.

  2. meetingintheclouds
    March 17, 2013

    One of my five sons was at school with Anita Kitchen and she became annoyed every time she was asked if her kitchen was ever messy.

    A new child in my youth group was Milcah Bull, and her mother insisted her name was not to be shortened to Millie (which the child liked). I didn’t see the significance of the name until a couple of weeks later when I announced she had earned her uniform – and a few boys started sniggering. From that day on, I called her Millie.

    • sarahlangdon
      March 18, 2013

      There’s a lady in our church named Anita Rose. I always think it sounds like “I need a rose” and am sorely tempted to make a wisecrack. But I don’t.

      Poor Milcah Bull. Why would her parents do that to her?

  3. Alyssa
    March 20, 2013

    When we lived in TN there was a meteorologist named Stormie Raines. I always figured it was an alias though. And we used to have a pastor who was the humblest, most welcoming and servant-hearted pastor we’ve ever known. His last name was Arms, which I always thought was perfect.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2013 by in Miscellaneous conversations, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
