Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

A World Upside Down

Once, my husband and I, before we had children, moved out to the wild, wild west.  It was just like a movie.  The tumbleweed blew across the road as we pulled in  the cow-town that was to be our home.  I cried.  I felt like a little bit of tumbleweed, without roots, blowing along in a dry, barren land.

After four years, we moved back east, one child in tow, and a second on the way.  We made a home on a tree-lined street in a pretty little town.

Seventeen years later, we moved again.  As our house receded in the distance, I was again a tumbleweed.  I couldn’t look at our home without feeling dizzy and sad.

100_2008

house 1

house

house 3

100_2006

We’ve been in a new house for almost seven years, but I still ache for my other home.

Home.  What a wonderful word.

**********

This is in response to the Weekly Writing Challenge.  I had forgotten how to edit images so I had fun turning turning my house upside down…. like a tumbleweed.

2 comments on “A World Upside Down

  1. Janyaa
    March 11, 2013

    Reminds me a little of Dorothy…

  2. Pingback: Driven to abstraction | Paul Scribbles

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
