Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

When I Grow Up

“Hey, Mom, what do you want to be when you grow up?” Grace asked me the other day while we were driving in the car.

Hannah giggled in the back seat.  “Mom’s already grown up,” she said.

But Grace persisted, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

“Oh, I don’t know…” I answered, but my mind starting running through the list of things I have wanted to be when I grow up.

“I think,” I told Grace, but I should have said it with more confidence, “I want to be a mom.”

“You are a mom!” they said in unison.

Let me say that I love being a mom.

I love hugging my kids — and my friends will tell you that I’m not a huggy person.

I love listening to their chatter about their lives.

I love helping them with math problems.

I love helping them with life problems.

I love saying things like, “Eat your broccoli.”

I love smoothing damp hair off feverish foreheads.

I love saying, “There, there.  Everything will be alright.”

When I was in high school, I don’t think mom was one of the options when the guidance counselor helped me plan my career. I don’t think it was listed in any of their big books of careers paths and colleges.  I don’t think it was on their projection charts of what jobs were going to be needed.

I went to college and got a degree in Psychology.  I got married.  Then, I became a mom, eight times over.

I don’t earn a penny for the work I do here at home, but I know that I am one of the richest people in the whole world. Forbes magazine can’t measure what I have.

T. S. Eliot said, “I don’t believe one grows older. I think that what happens early on in life is that at a certain age one stands still and stagnates.”  Mothers are too busy to stagnate.

IMG_0089[1]

A gift from my husband on my first Mother’s Day.

When I grow up, I want to be a mother.

2 comments on “When I Grow Up

  1. catterel
    March 6, 2013

    I think for lots of people it’s only when they retire that they find out what they would really like to be when they grow up. We just have to hope that it isn’t too late to do something about it. I think your children are very gad you have decided to be a Mom 😀

  2. Pingback: When You Grow Up | Conversations

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2013 by in Family conversation, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
