Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Finding a Smile

Sometimes I wonder what my children will tell their children about me.  I mean, I ask them to do some rather wacky things sometimes.

Like yesterday, I was driving home with Grace and Hannah, and I asked Hannah to look for my camera in my bag.  (I’m learning that my distracted driving — i.e. looking for things in my bag while I drive — makes them rather nervous.)

“Yep, it’s right here,” she piped up from the back seat, holding aloft my not-so-fancy Kodak PlaySport camera, a reject from one of the kids.  It takes great underwater pictures, but it’s pretty downhill from there.  You’ll see.

“What do you need it for?” she asked.  I’m sure she was wondering if Mom’s distracted driving was taking a new turn.

“There’s a picture I wanted to get,” I answered.

“I’ll take it,” Grace quickly interjected.

“Okay,” I said, and kept driving.  Hannah handed the camera up to Grace.

There were a few minutes of quiet in the car, then Grace asked, “What exactly am I taking a picture of?”

“I’ll show you,” I answered and kept driving.

A few more minutes passed, then Grace asked, “Where is it?”

“I’ll show you,” I answered and kept driving. I know her curiosity was piqued.

“Can you tell me what I’m looking for?” she asked.

“It’s a face just outside the next town,” I told her.

“A face??”  I could tell she was confused, or thinking that her mother had totally lost it.

“I saw it on the way here and it made me smile,” I said. “I just want a picture of it.”

She looked at me somewhat skeptically.

“I’ll show you,” I said again.

As we drove through the little town, she was all eyes, looking for the face.

“It’s a gas tank on a farm,” I told her. “I’ll show you.”

We slowed down as we approached the farm.  I was thankful there was no one outside doing chores at the moment.  More people besides my children might start thinking I’m crazy.

“Do you see it?” I asked as I pulled to the side.  I could tell by the smile on Grace’s face that she did.

“That’s great,” she said, trying to zoom in on it with my little camera that take great underwater pictures, but lousy outdoor twilight gas tank pictures from a car.

Can you see the face?  Does it make you smile?

gas pump

4 comments on “Finding a Smile

  1. pinklightsabre
    February 27, 2013

    That’s sweet.

  2. catterel
    February 27, 2013

    My mother and I both see faces all over the place (there’s probably a psychological term for it 🙂 ) and I once began taking photos like this – but in the meantime have lost them all. Thanks for reminding me that there are smiles everywhere!

  3. Judy Guion
    February 27, 2013

    It’s wonderful that you can see the beauty, and share it with your children, of all the little things in life. There is so much tp appreciate but we’re usually in too much of a rush to notice..

  4. Pingback: … the rest of the story | Conversations

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2013 by in Family conversation, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
