Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

In Glorious Detail

The Daily Prompt for today read: Describe the most satisfying meal you’ve ever eaten in glorious detail.

Quite frankly, I never eat in glorious detail.  I eat fast.  Really fast.  Forget the details, especially the glorious ones.

My father, on the hand, savors every bite of food he eats.  He chews each bite 37 times.  He pauses between bites. He eats in glorious detail.

The other day, however, Bobby and I were talking about the best meal we ever had.

HawkeyeHe had asked me, “Remember that meal at The Hawkeye?”

“That meal” need no further reference for me to remember it. “That meal” was, hands down, the best meal we ever had in a restaurant.  And the funny thing is I don’t even remember what we ate.

Every year at Christmas, the credit union has a chance auction to raise money for a charitable cause.  We buy tickets and put them in bowls for different prizes that we would like to win.  One year we won a dinner for two at The Hawkeye, a fancy little restaurant at a resort hotel.

A previous year we had won a gift certificate for an Italian restaurant in a neighboring city.  The gift certificate had a dollar amount attached and it was more than enough money for a wonderful meal for us.

But The Hawkeye prize had no dollar amount.  Just “Dinner for Two.”

Quite honestly, I have never eaten out before or since when I have not been conscious of the price of the meal.  Even if someone else is paying, I know that someone else is paying, and that awareness leads me to immediately rule out the most expensive items on the menu.

But this dinner for two was a prize donated by The Hawkeye.  It had no stipulation of anything, other than two people dining together.

When the waitress came and asked if we’d like to start with an appetizer, Bobby and I looked at each other, smiled, then said, almost in unison, “Sure!”

I have no idea what we ordered (maybe we each ordered our own) but whatever it was, we ate it in glorious detail.  We savored and talked and laughed.

“Are you ready to order your meal?” the waitress asked.

We were, and we did.  I have no idea what I ordered, but I do remember studying the menu and reminding myself that I could order whatever I wanted. Price didn’t matter.  And I ate it in glorious detail.

We ate slowly,enjoying the atmosphere, enjoying the fact that we had no children with us, enjoying each other’s company.  In glorious detail.

When we finished, the waitress asked, “Did you save room for dessert?”  She just happened to have a dessert menu in her hand.

Of course we hadn’t saved room for dessert, but we looked at each other, smiled, then said, almost in unison, “Absolutely!”

I’m pretty sure we shared a dessert, something chocolate-y and rich.  And we ate it in glorious detail.

The most satisfying meal I ever had turned out to have nothing to do with the food.  It had everything to do with the company and the fact that I could hang my worries at the door and just enjoy.

In glorious detail.

4 comments on “In Glorious Detail

  1. Being June
    February 22, 2013

    Sometimes even when the food is fantastic, the atmosphere (and the company) is better. Nice post.

  2. Judy Guion
    February 22, 2013

    It doesn’t really matter where or what you eat, for me it is always the atmosphere and the people that make it memorable and remarkable. I have enjoyed some very fancy food in some very expensive restaurants but as I thought about the “glorious detail”, one meal stood out… and I was actually by myself. I was at an intersection in downtown Jerusalem. When I travel, I like to “eat local” at times, and this was one of those times. I had decided to have falafel from a street-corner stand. Falafel in Jerusalem is the equivalent to a hamburger in the US. The name applies to the large-marble sized balls of ground up chick peas and seasonings deep fried, served in a soft flat bread, with crisp, cold lettuce and a cucumber dressing – along the lines of a Ranch dressing.. As I stood on the street enjoying the new tastes and textures, my eyes wandered around and took several “pictures” of people. There was a pair of Hassidic Jews with long, black robes, side curls and black hats, crossing the street. There were 3 young people, two men and a woman waiting for a bus, dressed in camouflage with 9 mm rifles slung over their shoulders. There was a female western tourist walking down the sidewalk wearing red short shorts, a white midi blouse, heels and huge gold hoop earrings, and behind me was the entrance to a McDonald’s !!!! Israel is a country of sharp contrasts. I don’t even know if I took any photos but that scene is forever etched in my mind. Please excuse the length but I wanted to add the “glorious detail”.

    • sarahlangdon
      February 22, 2013

      What a vivid description of the contrasts! Jerusalem has long been the one place I want to visit. When I go, I’ll have to be sure to try some falafel.

    • pinklightsabre
      February 23, 2013

      Love Judy’s story here. Makes my mouth water for falafel, and my mind, for Jerusalem.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2013 by in Family conversation, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
