Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Everything I Ever Wanted

A week or so ago I was out with Grace.  Sometimes, when I’m out with just one child, we do something a little special.  On this day, we stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts.

“Look,” I said, stopping in front of the big menu at the drive-thru, “they have special donuts for Valentine’s Day.  Want a heart-shaped donut?”

“Sure,” she said.  Grace actually likes just about any kind of donut.

“It looks like you have a choice, chocolate frosting or pink frosting,” I said, looking at the picture, not reading the description.

“Definitely pink,” she said.  I was not surprised.

dunkin_heart_donutLater, while we were driving home and she was halfway through her donut, I asked, “So how is it?”

“It’s everything I ever wanted,” Grace replied, licking a glob of custard filling out of the middle.

I laughed. “Everything you ever wanted?” I repeated back to her, smiling, but questioning.

“I’m serious, Mom,” she said. “This is everything I ever wanted in a donut.  It’s got strawberry frosting, the same filling as a Boston Creme doughnut, and sprinkles.”

Grace has always been a sprinkles kind of girl.

Last night I stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts with Hannah.  We had had a harrowing drive on some slick wintry roads and I wanted a cup of coffee for the ride home.

It’s still February, I thought.  Maybe I can get Grace another perfect donut.

156_2802Alas, they had moved on from that promotion.  We brought an assortment home, including a donut with pink frosting and sprinkles and a Boston Creme donut.  Sitting them side-by-side failed to merge them into one quintessential donut.  Poor Grace.

At least she had once had that one perfect moment of eating the perfect donut.

It was everything she ever wanted… in a donut.

4 comments on “Everything I Ever Wanted

  1. yourothermotherhere
    February 20, 2013

    Sometimes there are just perfect moments in time. Grace’s donut is one of them.

    • sarahlangdon
      February 20, 2013

      Sometimes it takes a child to recognize that perfect moment.

  2. Judy Guion
    February 20, 2013

    I wonder why it’s so hard for a grownup to be totally satisfied with what they get… and say “It’s all I ever wanted”?

    • sarahlangdon
      February 20, 2013

      You are so right, Judy. Grown-ups get so caught up in bigger and better that they fail to recognize that what they hold in their hands may be perfect.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2013 by in Family conversation, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
