Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Then The Quail Came

Seriously, I was all set to complain in church about church.  I was more than a little peeved.

The reason?  The scripture reading.

Okay, granted the lady who read the scripture is a day care provider and spends all her time with pre-school types.  Granted she loves her little “cherubs,” as she calls them, and gets all gushy anytime she talks about them.  Granted she is probably a fantastic day care provider — the soft, squishy, round, grandmotherly type that working mothers long for.  But do you have to read the scripture to me like I’m three years old?!  And that really wasn’t what irked me.  It was that she was reading from one of those children’s bibles that doesn’t stay true to scripture.

Irked.  That’s what I was.

The scripture was from Deuteronomy 26:1-11.  It’s about giving back to the Lord as a way of thanking Him for His provision in our lives.  The version that was read turned it into a story about being nice.

After the scripture reading, I sat in the pew carefully crafting the words I would say to the pastor.  I don’t usually complain, but this was good cause.  I would complain about the version of the Bible that was used for scripture.  I would complain about that whole scripture reading, because it was done after the children had been dismissed for children’s church.  They weren’t even there for the ooey, gooey, lollipops and rainbows reading!

Then the pastor got up to speak.

“Today we’re going to talk about gratitude, about being thankful,” Pastor A said.  “Do you know what the opposite of gratitude is?  It’s complaining.”

Was Pastor A looking straight at me? Could Pastor A see my heart?

The_Giving_of_QuailThe sermon continued, talking about the Israelites wandering in the desert, 40 years worth of wandering, but also 40 years worth of manna, every morning fresh sustenance. And still they complained.

A song from 30 years ago come flooding back to me. Noel Paul Stookey, the Paul of Peter, Paul & Mary, sang a little song called Then the Quail Came.

Then the Quail Came

Band & Bodyworks

Michael Blanchard
©1975 Gotz Music

There we were, hungry and scared, wishing we never had come
Homes on our backs, dust in our hair, cursing the day we’d begun
“Tell me I ask you,” a friend of mine said,
“Was it so bad where we were?”
“We didn’t have to come here to be dead, was what we had so unsure?”

chorus:
Then the quail came, falling like dew on the ground
The quail came, each evening our food to be found
And taking our curses and turning ’em round
And filling our ears with those ungrateful sounds
Unworthy to stand
I bow down

There we were, angry and naked, looking for someone to blame
Our bodies were aching, babies were crying
And each day was so much the same
“I tell you people, this journey is crazy.”
I heard someone say in his rage
“How long will it be ’till we realize our folly
And get back to where we were safe?”

(chorus)

Here we are, alone on a desert, fed dawn to dark, dusk to day
Every morning we wake up to find just the measure
Of food we need for the way
Oh once we would ask if we could have more
To see that our future survived
But we know now at last, that nothing is sure
Except that at evening the quail will arrive

(chorus)

I am so unworthy to stand.  I find such silly things to complain about,  like the way a scripture passage is read.

I am one of the richest people in the world.  We have a roof over our heads and food in our refrigerator.  I have a husband who tenderly cares for me, children who challenge and inspire me, friends who support me, and a God who loves me.

Oh, Lord, teach me to have a grateful heart.

3 comments on “Then The Quail Came

  1. catterel
    February 18, 2013

    How I know that feeling! How many times has the Lord shut my mouth when I was about to say something embarrassing or stupid – though there have been plenty of others when he hasn’t!!

  2. marymcleary
    February 18, 2013

    Your ability to show the humor in this lesson made the post even more special. I’m still smiling.

  3. Judy Guion
    February 19, 2013

    Thank you for sharing your story and this beautiful song. I’ve never heard it but we all need to be reminded of our blessings on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
