Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

The Nightmare

If someone is into dream interpretation, let me know what this means.

The other day I had to get up by 4 AM in order to leave by 4:30 AM for a swim meet that was over 2 hours away.  I set my alarm before I went to bed.

nightmare swimI woke up at 5 AM.  I looked at the clock and panicked.  How would I call Coach Gretchen?  I needed to tell her that I would be late! I didn’t have her cell number written down anywhere. Maybe it was in an email.  My heart sunk.  I knew I would never make it and she would wonder where I was.

When I went downstairs, there was a little white dog waiting at the bottom of the stairs.  It had trashed my living room.  There were ripped up pieces of paper everywhere and chewed-up clear plastic tubing (I have no idea where it came from or what it was for).

“Oh, yeah,” I said to the little white dog. “We’re dog-sitting, aren’t we?”  But I couldn’t remember whose dog it was.

Then I remembered why I was down there.  I must find Gretchen’s phone number.  I must call Gretchen and tell her I wouldn’t be there until at least 7:30 AM.  And she was counting on me to run the warm-up.  It would be over by then.

I started rummaging through papers.  When did my house turn into a hoarder’s house?  There were papers everywhere.  Tax papers.  School papers.  News papers.  Junk mail.  I couldn’t think where I kept the phone books.  They wouldn’t have helped me anyway because I needed her cell phone.

“Mrs. Langdon?” I heard a girl’s voice.  I looked up to see one of my swimmers,  a very annoying one of my swimmers.  She was holding a large math book.  “Mrs. Langdon?  Can you help me with my math?”

“Are you kidding?” I snapped at her. “I have to get to the swim meet!”

I went from room to room looking through papers but never finding what I needed.  The swimmer followed me, holding her math book, asking me to help her.

waspI felt something on my knee.  I looked down and saw a huge wasp. HUGE!  I had to brush it off, but I was so panicked that it would sting me that I decided to shake my leg instead.  I gave my leg a good hard shake and —

I woke up.  The clock said 3:45 AM.  I wasn’t late.  I made it to the swim meet on time.

For real, this was my dream.  And I felt that panicky feeling in my chest for most of the morning.  What does it all mean?

7 comments on “The Nightmare

  1. lala1966
    February 5, 2013

    wow, I hope someone knows the answer. The obvious thing is that you are stressed about something, something that is too much to handle.

    • sarahlangdon
      February 5, 2013

      I’m pretty sure I was stressed about getting up at 4 AM. That’s early even for me.

      I keep wondering whose little white dog it was. And why a wasp? I haven’t seen one of those around since autumn.

      No worries, though. I survived the day and the next and the next.

      • lala1966
        February 5, 2013

        lol I’m glad it had no reflection on your day. It would be nice to know those things like, what the dog meant and the wasp. Also what all of the clutter was there for. Post if you get the answers. I know that there are a couple of sites that explain many of the things people dream about. I have used one of those on one occasion, and It was pretty on target. Can’t remember what site though xx

  2. pinklightsabre
    February 5, 2013

    Wish I could help with an interpretation, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. Surely, anxiety in its many forms, trying on different costumes in your mind.

    • sarahlangdon
      February 5, 2013

      I like the costume idea. Anxiety in the costume of a little white dog, an annoying swimmer with a math book, and a wasp. I’ll have to remember this next Halloween.

  3. Cheryl
    February 5, 2013

    I’m no dream interpreter, but here’s my take on the situation: Sounds like you have a lot going on and a lot to be stressed about. It seems you feel responsible for a lot of other people and in the process your needs may have been neglected. I hope you’re able to catch up on some sleep because no matter how much I get, the hours between 2 :00 and 7:00 a.m. don’t seem to agree with me.

    • sarahlangdon
      February 6, 2013

      Thanks, Cheryl. Yes, stress in my life seems to be the common take on this dream. And it’s probably pretty accurate.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2013 by in Miscellaneous conversations, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
