Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Beyonce

“I don’t understand why they picked Beyonce for the half-time show,” Grace told me this morning.

We were laughing about the power outage, which, based on my Facebook news feed was bigger news than who actually won the game.  I even had to ask someone yesterday to tell me again who was playing. I don’t follow football –even a little bit.  I used to occasionally watch the Super Bowl for the commercials.  Or the half-time show.  But after the wardrobe malfunction a few years back, I don’t even do that.

Grace and Finley watched it last night though.  For the commercials.  And the half-time show.  Hence the conversation.

Grace went on, “I mean, I don’t think she has had a hit in years!”  When you’re thirteen, a few years can seem like forever.

“I remember when I first heard of Beyonce,” I told her.

“Really?” she asked. “What song did you like?”

“I didn’t say it had anything to do with her music,” I laughed. “I was pregnant with Hannah and lots of people were suggesting names for her — or him. We didn’t know what she would be.”

“And someone suggested Beyonce?” Grace asked incredulously.

“No, one of the girls from youth group said to me, ‘Whatever you do, don’t name it Beyonce.’ So, I told her that I don’t even know what that is.  She said, ‘It’s not an it, it’s a person.  And don’t name your baby after her.’  I assured her that that name wasn’t even in the running.”

Grace laughed. “That would be pretty funny if I had a sister named Beyonce.”

Not as funny as a power outage during the Super Bowl, however.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2013 by in Family conversation and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
