Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Sorry, Wrong Number

“Are you Sarah Langdon?”

I was standing in the kitchen at church, putting cookies on a tray. I turned to see a tall young woman smiling down at me.

“Yes,” I confessed.

“Do you know a Mrs. Conklin?  From GBS?”  The way she said “GBS” indicated that she had no idea what the initials stood for or even if she had gotten them correct.

“Yes, I do,” I answered, and explained, “GBS stands Gym-Swim-Bowl.  It’s a program for homeschooled kids that I take my girls to.”

“Well, did Mrs. Conklin reach you last week?” the woman asked.  “She called my house twice.  I guess your number is listed wrong somewhere. Your phone number and my phone number are only one digit different.”

I laughed. “That would explain the email she sent me. But I spoke with her in person the other day. We’re all set.”  Her daughter, Laramie, wanted to invite Hannah to a birthday party.

“Let me tell you about these phone calls,” the woman said. “I’m Faith, by the way.  I don’t think we’ve ever met.”

“And I’m Sarah,” I said, extending my hand, then laughing at my own foolishness for telling her my name.  She obviously already knew it.

old phone“Last week we got a message on our phone.  It was a child, Larry, or something –”

“Laramie,” I interjected.

“Yes, that’s it.  Laramie left a message inviting Hannah to a birthday party.  Since I don’t have a Hannah, I just figured it was wrong number and ignored it.”

“Yes, she was trying to reach us for a birthday party,” I confirmed.

“Anyway, then the mom called the other day and I answered the phone. ‘Is this Sarah Langdon?’ she asked.  I told her that she had the wrong number. Then she asked me, ‘Is this was ###-###-####?’  And I told her, ‘Yes, it is, but I think you have the wrong number.'”

“Yeah, I guess our numbers are one digit off,” I said.

“But she wouldn’t give up,” Faith said. “She started sounding annoyed with me. ‘Are you sure this isn’t Sarah Langdon?’ she asked. So I told her, ‘Yes, I am sure that I’m not Sarah Langdon.  You have the wrong number. I think you may need to find a phone book.'”

I laughed. People can be so funny.

Faith and I talked for a while in the kitchen after that.  She had known who I was, but I had no idea who she was.  I can be so oblivious about the people around me.  I was glad for this opportunity to meet her though.  She was warm and funny.  I’m looking forward to seeing her again at church.

I guess I’m not so sorry about that wrong number.

2 comments on “Sorry, Wrong Number

  1. catterel
    February 2, 2013

    Isn’t it strange how people who ring you by mistake almost always ask “Are you sure you aren’t XYZ?” as if you don’t really know 🙂
    I once had a woman on the phone who got very angry with me for not being the person she wanted to ring – I ended up being very apologetic, and thought afterwards she must have been an unhappy kind of person, always blaming others for her misfortunes.

    • sarahlangdon
      February 2, 2013

      I think that’s what makes it so funny. They are so sure that they couldn’t have made a mistake that they accuse the person on the other end of the phone of not knowing who they are! Yes, it is kind of sad when you think about it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2013 by in Miscellaneous conversations, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
