Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Chocolate

A friend asked me the other day, “Milk chocolate or dark chocolate? I’m asking for a friend.”

Yeah, right, I thought.  About the asking-for-a-friend part.

“What friend?” I asked in return.  I hate it when people answer questions with questions. “And why do you need to know?”

Then my friend turned all gestapo on me. “I’m the one asking the questions here.”

I could picture myself sitting in stark darkened room with a blinding light shining in my eyes.

“Spill it,” she barked at me.

All over chocolate.  Sheesh.

box_of_candy_1So I tried to honestly answer the question.  I pictured myself opening a big box of assorted chocolates. Which would I eat first?

It would be easier to say which I wouldn’t eat first.

I wouldn’t eat any white chocolate. Sorry, just not a fan.

And any filled with super-sweet pink stuff or orange stuff? No, thank you.

That still doesn’t answer the dark chocolate/milk chocolate question, though.  I really think that all depends on the day.

Deirdre turned us onto dark chocolate covered coffee beans.  I love those.  My husband loves Gertrude Hawk’s dark chocolate silk smidgens, and sometimes those just hit the spot.

But I also prefer plain M & M’s to any other variety.  And, if I was picking that chocolate from a box of mixed chocolates, it would probably be a milk chocolate covered caramel.

chocolate chipsMy favorite chocolate, though, just to eat, would be plain old chocolate chips, Nestles, semi-sweet.  I don’t think they are either milk or dark. Are they?

7 comments on “Chocolate

  1. lala1966
    January 30, 2013

    I can’t figure out why they still make those chocolates with the pink and green fluff in the middle. Is there anyone who likes those? Anyway, it is dark chocolate all the way with me! Dark chocolate is actually good for you. Now that I have been eating the dark so long, if I taste milk chocolate, it tastes way too sweet!!! 😉

    • sarahlangdon
      January 30, 2013

      That’s probably why I like the semi-sweet chocolate chips. They cut down on the sweet and just give you that yummy chocolate flavor — and I mean REAL chocolate flavor, none of this artificial stuff.

      • lala1966
        January 30, 2013

        right, artificial chocolate is the worst taste!

  2. catterel
    January 30, 2013

    BUT did you find out what was behind the question? I’m all agog to know why she was so gestapo-like about it! As for preferences – I have a British friend living in Switzerland, where excellent chocolate is a way of life, and he just craves awful old Cadbury’s Milk Tray!

    • sarahlangdon
      January 30, 2013

      No, and I’m sure she won’t tell me. I have a sneaking suspicion it may have something to do with an upcoming birthday.
      And, yes, Cadbury’s milk chocolates don’t do a whole lot for me either.

  3. Judith (Guion) Hardy
    January 30, 2013

    DARK CHOCOLATE — ONLY. The best are Dove Dark Chocolate squares. The’re good for me and so I allow myself one (or maybe two) every day. It’s my addiction.
    By the way – Nestle’s semi-sweet chips? Definitely Dark Chocolate.

    • sarahlangdon
      January 31, 2013

      So basically, Nestle’s chocolate chips are good for me? So reassuring.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
