Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Cold Weather

052A pet peeve of mine has been people who complain about seasonal weather.

You know what I mean. Like the people who say, “Ugh, it’s snowing again,” when it is WINTER in the northeast. Winter equals snow, right?

Or, “I hate the cold!” I remember hearing people say that and thinking, Just move to Florida! If you live in Florida and it gets to be three below zero, you’re allowed to complain. But here? Here, in January, we expect cold weather. And not just for a day or two.  We expect winter to last at least until March, although I have seen it snow on Mother’s Day more than once.

So guess what I said yesterday.  Actually, guess what I whined yesterday. “It’s so cold,” I complained. “Why does it have to be so cold?”

I knew the answer.  It’s January in upstate New York.

This morning my husband came in after clearing off the car to go to work. “It’s a lot warmer today,” he commented.

“Oh, good,” I said, “maybe I can go for a walk.”

“It’s not that warm,” he answered.

Sigh.

I think I may just need to move to Florida.

2 comments on “Cold Weather

  1. pinklightsabre
    January 28, 2013

    Lots of opportunities for complaints in Seattle…I hear you. I have family from Schenectady, beautiful country. Bundle up!

    • sarahlangdon
      January 28, 2013

      I’ll be heading to the Schenectady area next weekend. I dare not hope for warm weather, but I am hoping for clear roads.
      Seattle is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2013 by in Family conversation, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
