Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Numbers

Hot, yes.  But is this a good setting or a bad setting?

Hot, yes. But is this a good setting or a bad setting?

“Don’t do that!” Fin said sharply, as I pushed the SYNC button on the climate control in the car.

“What?” I asked, not sure I understood what he was talking about.

In our Honda Odyssey, we can have two temperature settings in the front seat, one for the driver, one for the passenger.  The SYNC button synchronizes them, so they stay the same.  I was actually pushing the button to take SYNC off because Fin cranks the heat up so high it can be unbearable. I thought that I would just make it cooler on my side.

“I like the numbers to be the same,” he said. “It bothers me when they are different.”

“Can we just turn it down then?” I asked, pushing the temperature buttons so the numbers dropped to a cool 71.

“It can’t be odd either,” he said. “I don’t like odd temperatures.”

“Okay,” I said.

The funny thing is, I get the odd number dislike.  I’ve always pictured even numbers as kind of squishy and round, you know, comfortable.  Odd numbers, on the other hand, have sharp edges.

Except I love perfect squares.  I’ve just always has this “thing” for perfect squares.

I don’t think I’ll tell Finley about how friendly and endearing perfect squares are (even the odd ones) because then I would have to live at a temperature set at either 64 or 81.

4 comments on “Numbers

  1. catterel
    January 25, 2013

    It would have to be 64 – 81 is odd! I see odd numbers as male, even ones as female, and agree with your image of them, even though 4 is all sharp angles!

    • sarahlangdon
      January 25, 2013

      I never thought about the gender of numbers, although, for the longest time when I was little, I thought all cats were girls and all dogs were boys.

  2. nuvofelt
    January 25, 2013

    Haha! My GS only likes even numbers or those that end with 5, I prefer odd ones! It’s a funny old world 🙂

    • sarahlangdon
      January 25, 2013

      I like numbers that end in 5, too. 7 — which I know is supposed to be the number of completion — is just not a nice number. I think that has to do with the fact that the 7 times table has always been the hardest for me to remember.
      Yes, it is a funny world.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2013 by in Family conversation, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
