Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Cat Barf

I came downstairs this morning to find that the cat had thrown up on my computer.  And cell phone.  I was not happy.

“You rotten cat,” I said to her, as she placidly lounged on the window ledge above the heater.

“You rotten cat,”  I repeated, because she acted as though she hadn’t even heard.  She just blinked at me with yellow uncaring eyes.

“I am not happy,”  I told her.  I don’t think she cared.

I set to work cleaning everything up.  The cell phone had taken the hardest hit and somehow cat barf triggers the Bluetooth.

“Please say a command,” the phone said.

My hands were wet with washing.  I just looked at the phone and said, “Oh, please…”

“Command not recognized. Please say a command,” the phone piped in again.

I dried my hands and hit the “End” button.

I was spraying Mr. Clean on the table when I heard that little voice again. “Please say a command.”  Darn cat barf.  I turned the phone off.

A little later, I heard another little voice.  A still, small voice whispered in my heart, “And yet I will praise Him.”

My shoulders slumped.  Really? I thought, Really?

“This is the day that the Lord has made;  I will rejoice and be glad in it,” I recited to myself.

Yes, I will praise Him.  Even with cat barf on the computer and phone, I will praise Him.

It reminded me of a Christmas letter we had received from a man named Steve Piefer who works at the Rift Valley Academy in Kenya.  The title of it was, “Cat Barfed ON Christmas Tree” and here is the opening paragraph:

Nancy is out with a friend, and our cat throws up ON the Christmas tree. I immediately grab my phone and text her, because I know it will make her laugh. Later, I ponder something: the enemy meant that to depress us, but what it exposed was that after 27 years, my favorite thing in the world is making my wife laugh. It was meant for evil, but He used it for good.

Oh, how I wish I had had a similar first reaction!  At the very least, I could have taken a picture so you could all believe me.  All I can do now is share a picture of the guilty cat.  cat

And praise Him.

Thank you, God, for this new day, for cat barf, for Mr. Clean, for paper towels, for life and breath, for children and husbands and laughter. This is the day that You have made. I will rejoice and be glad in it.

7 comments on “Cat Barf

  1. pinklightsabre
    January 10, 2013

    Yes, thank you for sharing the hidden glory in the banal! I know it all too well (more, the banal in cat barf). Best, – Bill

    • sarahlangdon
      January 10, 2013

      I once asked our vet why our cat throws up so much. She said, “Because she’s a cat.”
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Sarah

  2. lala1966
    January 10, 2013

    thanks for sharing, I really needed those reminders today 😉

    • sarahlangdon
      January 10, 2013

      I need those reminders every day. I just wish God wouldn’t use cat barf. 🙂

  3. Marilyn Davies
    January 10, 2013

    lol, wonderful post.. cats are funny creatures aren’t they?.. thank you for cruising through my ice cream stand!

  4. Barbara
    January 20, 2013

    Aren’t cats wonderful or challenging!

  5. Barbara
    January 20, 2013

    Oh and Thanks for visiting my post.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2013 by in Conversations with God, Postaday 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
