Conversations

I'm the kind of person who skips to the conversation when reading a book.

Mazel Tov

My addiction to word games led to a funny conversation the other day.  I was trying to use all my letters in a game called “Word Mojo” and tried the word “tov”.

“Dang,” I said out loud to no one in particular.  “I thought ‘tov’ might work.”

“What?” asked Grace, who happened to wander into the kitchen while I was talking to myself.

“I thought ‘tov’ might have been a word,” I repeated, “you know, like mazel tov.”

“What’s mazel tov?” she asked.

I knew that she had just seen Fiddler on the Roof, so I started thinking about a way to put it into that context.  While I was busy thinking, Elliot wandered in.

“You don’t know what mazel tov is?” he asked.  I wasn’t sure if he was talking to me or to Grace.

Grace answered him though.  “No,” she said.  “Do you?”

“Of course I do,” he said, with a little swagger.

“How would you explain it?” I asked, interested to hear his version of a Yiddish expression.

mazeltov-cocktail“Well,” he said, “you take an empty beer bottle, put in a little gasoline, stuff a rag into the top…”

I started laughing.   I couldn’t help it.

“No, Elliot,” I said, “that’s a Molotov cocktail.  That’s different from mazel tov.”

His face reddened.  “Well, they sort of sound the same,” he stammered.

All I could think about was the incongruity of shouting “Mazel Tov” while throwing a Molotov cocktail.

And how does my boy know about Molotov cocktails anyway?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2012 by in Family conversation and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Calendar

December 2012
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
